top of page

Home Schooling Kurt - Week 1

Today was Kurt's 1st official day of home schooling with me and he was excited to learn so we started with letter formation in some books that I'd purchased. Once I explained how he had to do it he put his glasses on and sat at the desk to make a start.



What I've noticed with Kurt is that if he goes slowly and takes his time with any task he does much better than if he rushes through.


He did really well considering this was the first time that we had used these books and after he had done a few pages I said to him we could take a short break.



 

Next on the agenda was some work from Mrs Cottrell, one of Kurt's teaching assistants from school, this was matching the word to it's picture.

Next we did some "Read and Draw" I taught him the words and did my best to describe what kind of picture might be best for him to attempt to draw.




 

Each week I'll be teaching Kurt some subjects that interest me, and also have captured his interest when we have spoken about them.
This week it was the solar system.

We started off by visiting the NASA website where there is massive amounts of learning resources aimed at children of all ages.


Once I'd downloaded a few things that I felt was appropriate for Kurt I printed them off and set about explaining briefly how the solar system was set out and a little bit about each of the planets.


Next we sat down and I helped Kurt make his very own Earth face mask which he really enjoyed making, he even posed for a few shots while wearing it.




After this it was lunchtime so we sat together at the breakfast bar in the kitchen to eat while listening to music.

 

I'd decided to do something creative with little legs (Kurt) next and asked if he wanted to do some painting to which he replied "yes".


I set him up in the kitchen and he'd said that he would like to paint some sea shells that we'd all collected a few weeks earlier from Goodrington Beach.






 

After this it was maths time so we sat down together on the couch to do some doodle maths on my spare phone.

He was fantastic at this and has a good brain for numbers, just like his older brother Ellis.

We sat for quite a while so he could change the look of his robot after using some of his doodle stars.





We had a short break together for a drink and snack while watching a solar system video on the NASA website.


 

Our final lesson of the day was something easy, it was colouring planets in the solar system.


I got him a sheet to colour that showed the planets as they are laid out in the solar systems and explained how the 2 furthest away were blue because they are cold and not getting as much heat from the sun as the closest ones.





 

All in all we had a fab day. Kurt seemed to thrive on our 1 on 1 time and we spoke about some of what he would like to learn in the coming weeks.


I'm very proud of how he seems to have turned a corner at school since our 1 home schooling session 2 weeks ago.


Roll on next week.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page